Even When Damned, You press On

In L.A., city of ‘Angels’, without focus or goal. Despite the drawn blinds still trying to ignore the sun pushing through the window.

I’m going home to Nashville tomorrow. I’m going home.

“Vietnam, Vietnam, Vietnam. We’ve all been there.”

My face looks like Rudolph got punched in it. The cold, the sun, the sick. The red marks they all leave behind.

“Life was something you dominated if you were any good.” ~Fitgerald, The Crack Up

“He: I could have been someone
She: Well so could anyone
You took my dreams from me
When I first found you
He: I kept them with me babe
I put them with my own
Cant make it all alone
Ive built my dreams around you”

So the time approaches. I will get in that chair, hold that book in my hand, read those words on the page, make eye contact with that one and then that one, shake that hand, bend in half but not break, get on that plane, file off, find the field behind the office building. All I ever was was this.

And of course Amy. There was always Amy.

amy-amy-amy

Reading at Book Soup in West Hollywood at 7 p.m. I’ll be as un-drunk as possible. Or not.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Even When Damned, You press On

  1. Valeria

    Hello there N. Frank Daniels…i always wonder what does the ‘n’ stands for…well anyways…I’am completely in love with your writing..and maybe you..i dont know…i read your book(not exxagerating)8 times i think i can almost recited..ok so about the book…dont be mad at me but i stole the “futureproof” from a bookstore..i know you are problably saying: that damn girl(yes female) stole my book and that 13.99 dollars not going into my fucking pocket!!…but i did’nt have any goddamn money!!….buy anyways i admire you style of writing fot not bull shitting around about situation like in the book…thank you and I LOVE YOU!!

  2. Valeria

    Can you PLEASE write me back?!!! and when is your other book coming out? “Gravity Eats the Dawn” sounds fucking awsooome…

  3. Braden Spades

    your litterature really has inspired me. i am a struggling addict myself, just turned 20 about 2 months ago. Im so lost in life its ridiculous. your book futureproof got me through some tough times, its awesome having something to relate to when your so lonely. Im in love with the 90’s era the nostalgia is awesome! Your book is easily my favorite of all time. The characters are so awesome! Are you going publish “gravity eats the dawn”? That would be pretty sweet!!! Anyways thanks so much you seem like a really cool guy!

Leave a Reply

