A Pretty Cool Story

On Friday, through yet another act of divine serendipity, I met Josh Kilmer-Purcell, author of the book I AM NOT MYSELF THESE DAYS (cover pictured above). What’s really interesting about Josh’s and my connection is that both his book and mine were endorsed by James Frey on James’ website just days apart. At the time of the endorsements I had no idea who Josh was. Then I clicked on the link James put up to Josh’s site, saw he had a myspace page and went to it (yes, I too have become a myspace junkie). Turns out he was doing a reading that very night in my much beloved hometown. I went to the reading, where Josh was kind enough to plug futureproof to his audience.

He then invited me to have a drink, where we could talk more about this industry of writing and our relationship to James Frey and really, the serendipitous way in which everything seems to come together some times, how he credits Clive Barker, in large part, with helping him get his book published. How it’s all part of the same blanket and you can’t force fortune, you must let it come in its own time (though I still cling tenaciously to the belief that one must work one’s knuckles to their proverbial bones in the meantimes, while waiting for fortune’s slow ass to finally make a house-call). In short, it was one of the most “writerly” moments I’ve ever had since embarking on this crazy roller-coaster of a visionquest.

To top off the evening, this tipsy southern belle of a woman, really great lady, came up to us and started talking to us as if we were celebrities. It was such a fucking surreal experience, I’m telling you, sitting in the lounge of the Ritz-Carlton having drinks with a published (and extremely gracious) writer who had just given a great reading at one of the biggest bookstores in Atlanta, talking about making it in one of the most cut-throat businesses in the world (at least in my perception).

So thank you, Josh Kilmer-Purcell, for a great intro to the world of letters. Thank you James Frey for making that a possibility. Thank you to all of you who have been such a great support in these early days.

Talk soon. ~NFD

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Pretty Cool Story

  1. pilgrim

    That is awsome about # 33! I went and counted the number of books they have on lulu. 33250 books. Number 33 last week out of that many books aint bad frank. and i wonder if the #33 nuber reflects their other merchendice? GOOD SHIT!
    (Man, I had to get a blog just to leave a comment.)

Leave a Reply

