THE Most Amazing, Inspiring 6 Mins. I Have Witnessed In Years

susan-boyle

The woman above singing into an old hairbrush has completely changed the way I look at everything. Now, look, I know I am no stranger to hyperbole, but the performance this woman gave two days ago on the British show “Britain’s Got Talent” is nothing short of incredible.

Susan Boyle is her name. She lives alone with a cat, has never married, has never even been kissed, and be honest, she looks like the most easily ignorable person you’ve ever met.

But watch this fucking video. Watch the way the three judges, including Simon Cowell, completely disregard her, how the entire audience laughs at her, and then how she literally moves them to tears.

I don’t like showtunes. I HATE American Idol. I generally hate musicals. But she sings the song from Les Miserables “I Dreamed A Dream” and it FLOORED me. I was literally crying, so fucking enraptured. Read the lyrics:

I dreamed a dream in time gone by
When hope was high
And life worth living
I dreamed that love would never die
I dreamed that God would be forgiving
Then I was young and unafraid
And dreams were made and used and wasted
There was no ransom to be paid
No song unsung, no wine untasted

But the tigers come at night
With their voices soft as thunder
As they tear your hope apart
And they turn your dream to shame

And still I dream he’ll come to me
That we will live the years together
But there are dreams that cannot be
And there are storms we cannot weather

I had a dream my life would be
So different from this hell I’m living
So different now from what it seemed
Now life has killed the dream I dreamed.”

She tells Simon that she has not made it as a singer because “I’ve never been given the chance before.” The words to the song testify to what kind of life this 47 year old woman might have lived. Now, because of one chance, one MOMENT, she is inspiring millions.

I’m just…so thankful for every minute of this life. And the beauty and inspiration that can come from places you would have never thought to look.

P.S. Watch Simon Cowell’s look of bliss at 4:04 in the video. His chin is in his hands and he literally sighs. Just incredible.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “THE Most Amazing, Inspiring 6 Mins. I Have Witnessed In Years

  1. tonya

    Oh my God! I was bawling through this performance too. I couldn’t believe the voice that came out of this woman. She has stunned the world and I think she is going to be a big star. t. xx

Leave a Reply

